Writing Every Day

It’s day three of NaNo and for the life of me I cant–well don’t–want to write today. I know that to build the habit I’m supposed to do it everyday even if it’s only for 5 minutes. But as I sit here, I’m intimidated by my word count. I’m intimidated by other’s word counts. One author/blogger I follow, Vanessa Leigh has already written 25,000 words. That’s amazing, and she rocks, but, it’s freaking day three. The rest of us lowly peons are supposed to be at 5,001 words today. So I know I shouldn’t be comparing myself or being intimidated by others (especially since my goal will see me passing the finish line before a lot of others) but I am.

I need to write 2,100 words tonight to get back on track with my 2k per day. I’ve got an hour and a fifteen minutes to get that but I’ve been wasting time watching Nightwish music videos or refreshing my feed on Twitter/Facebook. Because Nightwish, and my friends, are super important right now. #sarcasm

As much as I don’t want to write–AT ALL–I’ll bite the bullet and make my word count. Dammit, building a habit is hard and annoying.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Writing Every Day

  1. jenniesisler November 4, 2012 at 4:48 pm Reply

    I think the hardest thing to do is force writing when you’re tired or otherwise stressed out. It sounds like your roadtrip will give you plenty of fodder for writing, but I know when I’m stressed out my brain just closes up and any hope of writing fades. I should have written yesterday and I have a post in mind but family crap just got in the way. Hopefully you’ll feel like writing soon and I look forward to your next post.

Leave a Reply

