Writing Time

I’m a night owl. I love staying up late because it’s quiet and I don’t have to deal with anyone else. There’s no questions, no noise, no interruptions. But when it comes to writing, especially if I have deadlines (like in the case of NaNo), I find myself putting my writing off. I know I need to get it done by a certain time or date, but I keep thinking I’ll get to it later.

I always do. I’ll finish my writing by the deadline but it’s a struggle. Case in point, today. I know I need to write at least 1,667 words today to make my word count for NaNo, plus what I didn’t finish last night. Technically, since I’m shooting for 2,000 words per day, I need to write 3.500 to get caught back up. I’ve known I needed to write this all day but I’ve pushed it off. And now I have less than 2 hours to do it in.

It’s 10 o’clock, I should be getting ready for bed, if not sleeping by now. I’m tired of all the late nights especially since I don’t get things done during the day. So I’ve decided to change it up a little. I’m going to start writing when I first wake up. If I can get at least 1,000 words done in the morning, there won’t be as much to write at night. I’m really shooting to get the 2,000 written first thing in the morning, but if I don’t at least I’ll have written something.

So starting tomorrow, I’m going to write and blog in the morning so I’m not rushing at the end of the day.

3 thoughts on “Writing Time

  1. Kathleen November 5, 2012 at 4:16 am Reply

    Oh, I have so been there. Just recently in fact.

    Even though I am a night owl, too, I found it just wasn’t making me productive. I have been working towards being inbed by 10 and lights out by 10:30 (giving me my beloved reading time and using it as an extra incentive to get my butt in bed) and then get up around 5 a.m. to write before my little guy gets up. It is still taking me some time to make this a firm habit – and there are many days it it hard to get out of bed, but I hope in the long run it helps me stay consistent. Plus, it is sooo nice starting my day knowing I have already sat at the keyboard and written a little.

    Good luck!

  2. Susan November 5, 2012 at 5:24 am Reply

    Hi D Ann. Just dropping by from NaBloPoMo, and wanted to wish you well with your new writing routine. I wrote a post a few weeks ago about exactly this dilemma. I find most of my best ideas come in the late evening, when the house is quiet and cosy and dimly-lit, yet I love to get up early to get a jump-start on the day. Trouble is: I can’t do both together! Still, we’re writing, and that’s the main thing. Enjoyed your post. Happy writing!

  3. Bethanne November 5, 2012 at 2:06 pm Reply

    I know how you feel.
    I used to do nights, even knowing that I would do better in the morning with a fresh start. About a month and a half ago, I started waking up EARLY. And I’ve gotten more writing done in that time than I’ve ever gotten done in that time span, EVER. LOL 😀

    Goodluck with Nano.

Leave a Reply

