Overbooked or Using Time Wisely

FOr some reason, I still haven’t learned not to overbook myself. Or at least using what time I have wisely. I signed up for some book blog tours over at Overflowing Bookshelves, knowing that I was also doing NaNo this month. I already had my ROW80 goals to contend with but I decided at the last minute to add in NaBloPoMo…

Why do I keep doing this to myself. My blog tour was actually for the second book in a series, which meant I needed to read the first book, which I’ve been doing all day. When I could have taken the time to write, i.e. in the morning like I SAID I was going to start doing in yesterday’s blog post (hint, hint, if you can’t figure it out, I didn’t write this morning), or when I watched those two episodes of Eureka, I did other things.

So now I’m making myself log at least 30 minutes of writing. I’m already behind on my personal NaNo goal but I need to keep up the habit of writing everyday. Hell, the only reason I’m blogging today is because I got in the habit of posting everyday when I did NaBloPoMo last month on Quiet Contemplations. So I know it works. I have to blog everyday, even if I don’t want to, even if I’m tired. There’s no option not to blog.

And as much as I would just love to not open my WIP right now, it’s open and waiting for me to start writing. I’ll build this habit even if it kills me. I’ll try again tomorrow to write & blog in the morning so I can take the afternoon to watch TV, read, or do the boring side of blogging.

9 thoughts on “Overbooked or Using Time Wisely

  1. Marie November 5, 2012 at 10:28 pm Reply

    What’s the boring side of blogging? Looked up your blog because it was under mine in the soup! Happy to see a fellow WordPress blogger! Good luck!

    Marie
    Good Morning, Joe
    http://goodmorningjoe.wordpress.com/

    • D. Ann November 6, 2012 at 8:32 am Reply

      Maybe I should change that to the tedious side of blogging. It’s the worrying about plugin updates, changing themes (which always takes me at least 4 theme changes to find the right one), working on widgets, etc.

      I know all that is an important part of blogging and website upkeep but sometimes I wish it was all automated.

      • Marie November 6, 2012 at 8:40 am Reply

        Oh I see! I just didn’t know what you meant. Thanks for the clarification! 🙂

        • D. Ann November 6, 2012 at 11:14 am Reply

          No problemo. 🙂

  2. jenniesisler November 6, 2012 at 8:13 am Reply

    I totally understand where you’re coming from. I’m always hesitant to commit to new things because I’d feel guilty if I overextended myself and then couldn’t meet the commitment that I made. It’s definitely a fine line between using your time wisely so you can get things done and overextending yourself. The trick is to not be afraid to say no to something if you feel you can’t give it your full attention….then again, I should practice what I preach:D

    • D. Ann November 6, 2012 at 11:16 am Reply

      Exactly! I always feel like that but then end up going for it anyway. All I need to do is get in the habit of doing all these things and then it will become automatic for me.

      Like today, I decided to write within 30 minutes of getting up and I pounded out 2500 in less than an hour.So now I have the rest of my day free instead of having it hanging over my head. Now I just have to keep at it.

      • jenniesisler November 7, 2012 at 6:15 am Reply

        And hanging over your head is really how it feels sometimes if you’ve overextended yourself. There’s a huge difference between overextending and just becoming more disciplined though. Overextending means you can’t physically accomplish your goals no matter how hard you try. It sounds like you’re well on the way to accomplishing your goal with writing this month:)

  3. Susan November 6, 2012 at 8:44 am Reply

    The thing is: I always want to do everything! We’re not overextended, we’re just Renaissance Souls that want to do it all! Hope you settle into a good, workable rhythm to get all your writing done this month. (And I’m totally with you on all the tedious stuff that goes along with blogging. Sometimes it can take me all afternoon just to upload a picture to go with my post!)

    • D. Ann November 6, 2012 at 11:12 am Reply

      I’m getting into a rhythm. I wrote first thing in the morning today and pounded out 2,525 words doing sprints for an hour. I want to break 15k today so I still need about 4,700 to go to make that goal. At least this way, if I don’t write anymore during the day I at least got my 2k goal. 🙂

      Picture can be wonderful things or annoying things. First you’ve got to find the picture, then upload it, then re-size it. And that’s only if you don’t need to first edit it in paint/photoshop.
      Someone linked this website to me for good FREE stock photos, http://www.morguefile.com/, and I just love it so you should check it out.

Leave a Reply

