Sprints and Rewards of Change

So I blogged a few days ago about starting a new habit. This month I’m focusing on writing every day and I decided to switch up what time I do it at. From now on, I’m going to write within the first hour of getting up. 

Today was the first time I participated in a sprint and the first time that I wrote in the morning. And the rewards were amazing. In 45 minutes I had written 2,525 words and it wasn’t even lunch time yet. I have the rest of my day free to do whatever I wanted, some of which was spent taking a well deserved nap since I was running on 4 hours of sleep. 

I think sprints worked for me because I would write for 10 minutes or 20 minutes then take a break. Instead of wondering when I would be done or trying to get to a certain word count, all I had to do was make it to the end of the 20 minutes. I can regroup during the break and figure out where I want the scene to go next. Or, I can just chit chat with the fellow sprinters and talk about everything except writing. 

I like the feeling of having my whole day ahead of me. So I’m going to keep it up. I’m going to write in the morning and blog before 5pm (I’m going to work on getting that down to noon). Here’s to building new habits. ^_^

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Sprints and Rewards of Change

  1. Kathy November 7, 2012 at 9:06 am Reply

    That sounds like a great idea! Inspiration usually doesn’t hit me till later in the day. Wish it would hit earlier. 😀

    Kathy
    http://gigglingtruckerswife.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

