Back on Track

These past few days have been a killer for my writing. I haven’t written a single word in the past two days. I can blame jet-lag all I want, but the reality is, I just didn’t want to write. I would stare at my computer and sometimes I would even open up my word document but not a word would be written. I’ve gotten to the point where I’m sick of my characters and I want something new to happen. Something exciting. A new story line, new characters, new struggle.

But I need to stay on track and at least finish this novel, even if it doesn’t get anywhere off my hard drive. So I’m powering through it. I’ve reached 30k today so there’s just 20k more to go to cross the NaNo finish line. I’ve got another 30k or so to go to meet my personal goal. I’m exactly halfway through my novel so it makes sense that I’m in the middle lag portion portion of doom. I’ve decided that I’m going to write the exciting scenes for the next few days to at least give me a break. Hopefully that’ll jump start my writing again.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Back on Track

  1. Cate Russell-Cole November 18, 2012 at 3:16 pm Reply

    Sometimes we just need that brain break! I hope you’re able to continue moving ahead. Don’t let it stress you.

    Best wishes.

  2. jenniesisler November 19, 2012 at 10:29 am Reply

    I think you should channel your inner Quentin Tarantino and write things out of order for a while. That always helps me get my perspective back. Just don’t force it – if I’ve learned anything about my writing, it’s that I can’t force it or I just end up rewriting and/or discarding what I’ve done if I do that.

Leave a Reply

